Weariness and Grace

A new week has arrived, and with it, another rainy day. The steady pattering goes on outside while little Daisy and I enjoy a quiet day at home. It was a busy weekend, so the prospect of a rainy day at home together is especially lovely.

The past weekend was a whirlwind. Two young friends graduated from high school. A dear family here just brought back their adopted daughter from Africa. An old college chum of my husband’s came for lunch on Saturday. Hospitality, ministry, fellowship, celebration. So many rich things overflowing in the brief space of barely three days. In the moments between the excitement, exhaustion came. How does one carry on in the dear daily life God has given when so tired?

I thought back to all the mornings of waking up exhausted, struggling simply to get up and begin another day. Even with a little one who slept through the night early on, I was still weary. Four months later, exhaustion still rears its ugly head. Some mornings are a royal battlefield, where joy fights despair and Christ’s promises are a feast for a starving beggar. His grace prevails, but how am I to persevere?

The answer I have found? Embrace it. Don’t attempt to side-step the exhaustion, for it follows you wherever you go. Sink into it, rather, so as to surge forward in God’s good grace. Like the labor to birth a child or the grief of heart-aching tragedy, I accept the weariness so that I can surmount it by God’s grace. And His grace prevails!

So I take a deep breath and get out of bed in the morning. Stand up from my seat on the couch and begin the next load of laundry. Wake my daughter from her nap and carry on the daily duties and delights of mothering. His grace is sufficient for all my needs.

Christ suffered the full wrath of God in order to atone for the sins of His people. He died in order that we might live. So I take up my cross and follow Him, embracing the struggle in order to attain the victory. I carry on.

What about you? How do you persevere amidst weariness?

Leave a Reply

