Living in the Dull Roar

In the midst of my homemaking adventures, I have often spoken, tongue in cheek, of lessening the chaos to a dull roar. Let me go clean up the kitchen, I tell my husband, and lessen this chaos to a dull roar. I tidy up my piles and move things into a more orderly state of messiness, waiting for the time when I can do a better job. Keeping things at a manageable level will do for now, I think to myself.

And then comes this week and a half of life, when it is almost too much to ask to keep things at that manageable level. My husband, now home from work, has been packing box after box of books, while I have been sorting, folding, and packing clothes. Cardboard is our new home accent. Instead of having a tidy home, it is now a matter of having paths to walk in between the boxes and furniture.

For me, that is hard. I know this season is brief, but sometimes I feel as if I’m being buried in cardboard and that ever-increasing pile of stuff. Am I a hedonist? How do we need this much stuff for a nearly-six-month-old baby? A lot of this is truly necessary, but can we get rid of things? I go on, day after day, packing, questioning, organizing, and trying to grasp every little opportunity for tidiness.

Daisy, meanwhile, is trying ever so hard to cut her first tooth. We were awakened by persistent crying at 3:30 this morning (this from the little girl who had not been up in the night for over three months!). A clean diaper and a dose of baby Orajel seemed to help, but none of us slept well for the rest of the night.

Growing pains are hard, whether for Daisy cutting a tooth or for us as we move to seminary and a new season of marriage and family life. We are riding the roller coaster of leaving a home, which means not only packing but a continual run of visiting, keeping us away from home each night as we bid farewell to dear friends here in Virginia. It is a sundering and a planting, an ending and a beginning that tears the heart even as it grows and strengthens it.

And so we live in the dull roar. Boxes pile up, we say more goodbyes, and we treasure each moment, be it snuggling with a little one or sorting another pile. The Lord’s mercies are new each morning, and His faithful promises are ours as we work in and through the chaos for His glory.

If I seem a little scarce  in these next few days, blame it on the move. We’ll be driving our stuff up to the Big City next week, so it’s a topsy-turvy life this month.

2 thoughts on “Living in the Dull Roar

  1. Reminds me of Psalm 29, how the Lord is mighty and powerful to reign above that which appears as chaos. Read the whole chapter! And I quote the last two verses as an encouragement to you:

    The Lord sat enthroned at the Flood,
    And the Lord sits as King forever.
    The Lord will give strength to His people;
    The Lord will bless His people with peace.

    The Lord be with you all, dear friend, and stay strong in Him! ❤

  2. Hang in there, my dear friend! I understand the feeling of cardboard being the new home accent from very recent experience… may God give you much grace in this time of transition. Isaac and I will be praying for you (just wrote it down so we’ll remember! 🙂 ), and we look forward to hearing how you’re doing once things have settled down. Love, Hannah H.

Leave a Reply

